Product Review: Betty Crocker’s Red Velvet Cupcake Mix


Price may vary; I paid £2.25 from Asda.

I’d wanted to try a red velvet cake for a while and when May Day was coming up I thought it would a family treat to make cupcakes.

The package includes the cupcake mix, the frosting mix, 9 cake cases, and a packet of chocolate sprinkles.

Additional ingredients needed: 30ml of vegetable oil, 2 medium eggs, 60g butter and water.

Time to prepare: around 15 minutes for the cake mixing, 15-17 minutes for baking. After cooling, it took me longer than I care to admit to mix and apply the frosting! Remember to leave yourself time for the cakes to cool before frosting if you want to eat these the same day. I found they kept well and were fantastic the following day too.

Ease of use: 9/10 – the mixing and cooking instructions were clear and easy to follow.

I used a squeezy bottle to apply the frosting with mixed results, and did my best to scatter the chocolate on top. I think I need more practice!


Taste: 10/10 – delicious, moist and full of flavour.

Value for money: 9/10 – you have to add quite a few ingredients; however if you had to buy every single ingredient for a red velvet recipe you would be paying out quite a lot.

The complexity of the recipes I’d seen online was what made me try this mixture first. Now I know I enjoy the taste, I might be tempted to try a red velvet recipe from scratch.
However this is an easy, tasty, way to quickly bake enough cupcakes for a family treat. Recommended.

This is an unbiased review and I have not received any reward, financial or otherwise, from any persons or companies mentioned within the review.

Leave a Reply

